Hellgate Revival :: Forums

Community => Support => Topic started by: Wildman on Aug 21, 2010; 10:53 PM

Title: The dreaded memory leak
Post by: Wildman on Aug 21, 2010; 10:53 PM
Hi all, I have noticed that at least one person doesn't know about the work around for the memory leak in HG:L so I thought I would bring this topic back into the limelight to help out the newer members or those who are new to the game that have older computers or not enough RAM.  Yes I realize that this has been covered before but, the last post in that thread is about a year old and it didn't cover how to change the pagefile.

So here go's, all you have to do is change your pagefile/virtual memory
These instructions are for XP users

Right click My Computer, then click the Advanced tab, go down to Performance click settings, then the Advanced tab. At the bottom it will say Virtual Memory click change, now change the Initial and Maximum sizes to 5000 or more (I would recommend 10000 if your HDD has the room) then click OK, you may have to restart your computer after you're done.

Originally posted by Kite: for Win7 users
You mean increase the size of your virtual memory?

    * "Windows-key + Pause" (Hotkey combination :P)
    * Advanced system settings
    * Advanced -> Performance -> Settings
    * Advanced -> Virtual Memory -> Change
    * Select the partition for which you want to change the "Page File Size", select "Custom size" and enter your prefered values (make sure your HDD has enough space left)
    * Click "Set" and then "OK" and you're done :)

That should help, or at least make it so you dont have to keep restarting the game so often, and there are other things you can do as well.

EDIT: These instructions are for the HG:L Single Player, it is unknown if they are feasible for the T3Fun Hellgate Global testing
Title: Re: The dreded memory leak
Post by: thegreatcthulhu on Aug 22, 2010; 02:39 AM
Changing the game's priority from normal to high (or even real time) can help as well. CTRL+ALT+DELETE while Hellgate is running; right click hellgate, go to set priority, and from there, change it to something higher than normal.


This sometimes can cause ill side effects though. Setting it higher than something your system can tolerate may cause crashing. Thus, the results will vary for each individual.
Title: Re: The dreaded memory leak
Post by: maeyan on Aug 22, 2010; 08:17 AM
If your system has 4GB of RAM your generally safe. I've never crashed
Title: Re: The dreaded memory leak
Post by: Bryan on Aug 22, 2010; 04:14 PM
Doesn't Win7 drain some?Got 3GB on a Win7 system,just asking to know if I should be preparing for some crashes there  :P
Title: Re: The dreaded memory leak
Post by: Killious on Aug 22, 2010; 11:06 PM
Quote from: "maeyan"
If your system has 4GB of RAM your generally safe. I've never crashed

4Gb of RAM with Windows 7 Home Premium x64 and I don't ever crash either.
Title: Re: The dreaded memory leak
Post by: Wildman on Aug 23, 2010; 04:38 AM
Quote from: "Bryan"
Doesn't Win7 drain some?Got 3GB on a Win7 system,just asking to know if I should be preparing for some crashes there  :P

Bryan, Win 7 is a little more generous with the pagefile so you should be OK but it wouldn't hurt to make it larger just in case. The big reason I started this thread was for those using older systems, especially XP and Vista using 3Gb or less of RAM, FSS did take care of most of the issue for MP (they didn't eliminate it) but they didn't dedicate a lot of time to the SP so the memory leak still exists.

I'm using Win 7 HP 64bit with 4Gb of RAM as well and no crashing, but on my XP boot it has crashed especially when I'm playing an Evoker or a MM. 32bit systems only recognize 3.2Gb.
Title: Re: The dreaded memory leak
Post by: thedoommarine on Aug 26, 2010; 06:10 AM
Wait wait wait, there is a memory leak? Hmm must not affect my 6GB of RAM and my 1 GB of GDDR5 on my 5870 graphics card being shared by DX11, because I am getting between 100 to 300 fps on max settings depending on the size of the area. And yes I do play Cysis with this thing, very fun game.
Title: Re: The dreaded memory leak
Post by: Bryan on Aug 28, 2010; 03:18 AM
For a couple of days I've been having the station loading screens stuck at well,loading... :evil:
And on top of that awesome bit,textures sometimes either go missing or turn all squared.
Not permanent,but they both DO happen every now and then.
Any chance it's related?

Running Hellgate on a Win7 32bit system with 3GB of RAM,recently did a format just in case and still no improvement.
Title: Re: The dreaded memory leak
Post by: Wildman on Aug 28, 2010; 05:24 AM
Bryan, what are your system spec's mobo, cpu, video card, psu......it may have something to do with it, but I doubt it, the mem leak usually cause's a crash.
Title: Re: The dreaded memory leak
Post by: Bryan on Aug 28, 2010; 05:48 AM
Gonna go home and check,it's kinda new and all so the exact specs elude me right now :oops:

Highly doubt it's a spec problem though,I've run much more demanding games than Hellgate with no problems whatsoever.That's why I had the suspicion the issue'd be with the game itself...
Title: Re: The dreaded memory leak
Post by: Wildman on Aug 28, 2010; 06:06 AM
That is true, but for dx10 the recommended card is a 8800, so even if you were using say a GTX460 you are still below the recommended spec even tho it is a newer card. The 6200 is recommended for the minimum dx9 use.
Title: Re: The dreaded memory leak
Post by: Bryan on Aug 28, 2010; 06:18 AM
Well running dx9 either way,still dx10 never had problems whatsoever so I doubt that's where the problem is.  :(
Title: Re: The dreaded memory leak
Post by: Wildman on Aug 28, 2010; 06:47 AM
Oh, I meant HG:L recommended spec, sorry bout that.

Back on topic: does the problem clear up after restarting the game. Do you have a way of monitoring your ram usage.

It could still help if you could put up your system spec's and game settings, if I cant help, others can as you probably know by now :)
Title: Re: The dreaded memory leak
Post by: thegreatcthulhu on Aug 28, 2010; 06:55 AM
@Bryan:

You managed to get the infinite loading screen bug on DX10?
Title: Re: The dreaded memory leak
Post by: Bryan on Aug 29, 2010; 01:01 AM
Quote from: "Wildman"
does the problem clear up after restarting the game. Do you have a way of monitoring your ram usage.

Persistent as hell,restarting works but it might still happen again after say,an hour.
I've dedicated my entire RAM to the ungrateful lad,got nothing else running and I even set HGL's priority to Above High at task manager's processes tab...What can I say.

Modem problem still not solved btw,soon as it's solved I'm posting my specs just in case something gives a pointer.

Quote from: "thegreatcthulhu"
@Bryan:

You managed to get the infinite loading screen bug on DX10?

DX9 actually,but I think I got it on DX10 too once or twice.Though I could be mistaken on that one,memory seems to fail me these days.
Title: Re: The dreaded memory leak
Post by: Wildman on Aug 30, 2010; 06:53 AM
Quote from: "Bryan"
Quote from: "Wildman"
does the problem clear up after restarting the game. Do you have a way of monitoring your ram usage.

Persistent as hell,restarting works but it might still happen again after say,an hour.
I've dedicated my entire RAM to the ungrateful lad,got nothing else running and I even set HGL's priority to Above High at task manager's processes tab...What can I say.

Modem problem still not solved btw,soon as it's solved I'm posting my specs just in case something gives a pointer.

That sounds like the memory leak, when your memory usage gos over 80% the game will crash or lock up, sometimes locking up your system as well.

If I remember right there is a memory monitor in the task manager in Win 7, turn it on and watch it to see what your memory is doing both while idle and playing HG:L, Win 7 on my machine uses between 20-25% of my memory at idle (thats with 4Gig) approximately 1Gig of memory. With your system that would only leave about 2Gig to run peripherals and applications, with a memory hog like HG:L it may not be enough, like I said earlier my XP boot still crashes once in a while and thats the same machine just a different HD, OS
Title: Re: The dreaded memory leak
Post by: thumper on Aug 30, 2010; 10:05 PM
I have a similar amount of RAM as you do Wildman - I setup the Win 7 monitor to capture memory use late in the game as I suspected it had something to do with the outdoor levels that lead to Necropolis. Even with 4G I could see the game chewing up RAM and threatening to bite into virutal RAM (disk) the longer I played it. I'm not sure if it is related to how long you play or any particular levels/events, but in the old MP days (on a less powerful rig) the lead-in levels to Molly would hang/crash my machine about 75% of the time and it was always the memory leak that did me in...

Now I have a much better system (OS and HW) and I haven't had HGL crash the system (yet), but something I learned almost 30 years ago:

Good Hardware Cannot Fix Bad Code

[smilie=cray.gif]
Title: Re: The dreaded memory leak
Post by: Wildman on Aug 31, 2010; 04:22 AM
That is a true statement, but we can still find work arounds for that bad code....it sucks.

One of the things that I have noticed is that the game actually seems to play better using a 64bit OS. That maybe because the game was created on a 64bit OS, then transferred to 32bit, I'm probably wrong but its a good theory anyway.  :roll:

I don't really think that the memory leak is totally tied to the amount of time you play so much as to the effects and how busy the game can get in certain areas.

There are triggers in the code that are supposed to tell the system that certain info is no longer needed, so that info no longer needs to be stored and to free up some memory, but apparently that code/trigger/node or what ever you want to call it, ether isn't there or isn't functioning properly.
Title: Re: The dreaded memory leak
Post by: thumper on Aug 31, 2010; 05:23 AM
Quote from: "Wildman"
That is a true statement, but we can still find work arounds for that bad code....it sucks.

One of the things that I have noticed is that the game actually seems to play better using a 64bit OS. That maybe because the game was created on a 64bit OS, then transferred to 32bit, I'm probably wrong but its a good theory anyway.  :roll:


Actually a good theory Wildman, if true (anyone confirm this?). I haven't had a crash since going 64 bit and can honestly say that when at work we moved our WAS applications from 32 bit AIX to 64 bit AIX a few years back we experienced some problems with compiling the home-grown code. The enterprise packages (like Oracle and various middle-ware packages) were no problem and the HW was 64 bit from the get-go so most of the system level stuff like batch and CHRON jobs were seamless.... might explain a few odd ball glitches inherent in HGL (passing of PARMS was an issue for our Apps group IIRC).
Title: Re: The dreaded memory leak
Post by: ganaeis on Sep 03, 2010; 11:58 PM
The odd thing is, it stops leaking at about 5.2gb after running for a couple of hours and visiting a lot of maps at 64bit. My guess is that you're safe with 5.2gb + whatever your system uses in idle combined as pagefile and ram. While running at 32 I recall a memory usage cap at 2gb which requires the game to recycle memory much more frequently possibly causing the crashes. I'm not entirely sure though since I'm running on 12gb ram.
Title: Re: The dreaded memory leak
Post by: Alaisiagae on Sep 04, 2010; 09:31 PM
What are the signs of a memory leak? I know what it looked like on that one level in NWN: SotU where the game would get slower and slower and start getting 1/4 frames per second. Is that what it'd look like if HG had a leak?

So far, I have not encountered a similar phenomenon while playing Hellgate Revival, nor has the game ever crashed on me. Windows XP 64-bit with SP2 and 3GB of RAM.

The only thing that I've noticed is that the game seems to tie up my system resources for several minutes after I quit the game. If I try to open Firefox, it'll just take about three or four times longer than usual. Even trying to access Windows Explorer is slow.
Title: Re: The dreaded memory leak
Post by: Kite on Sep 04, 2010; 10:03 PM
Slow-downs are very common when you don't have enough RAM and the system has to use its virtual memory... not necessarily a sign of memory leak.
The most noticable effect of a memory leak is that the game will consume your memory, but won't free it anymore... that way the game will hog more and more memory until there's none left. The result is a game crash without anything you can do...

@Hellgate still using up resources after shutting down:
This MIGHT point towards a memory leak, but then again HGL always had various kinds of problems... As long as the ressources are released after a while, everything is fine. Otherwise you can always force-quit HGL via the task manager.
Title: Re: The dreaded memory leak
Post by: Alaisiagae on Sep 05, 2010; 08:30 PM
Quote from: "Kite"
@Hellgate still using up resources after shutting down:
This MIGHT point towards a memory leak, but then again HGL always had various kinds of problems... As long as the ressources are released after a while, everything is fine. Otherwise you can always force-quit HGL via the task manager.
Interesting. I have the freeware program "FreeRAM XP Pro" which forces freeing-up of RAM. I can do it manually, but I can also have it running in the background and having it do such a thing at either time intervals and/or when remaining available RAM reaches a specific amount.

Is there a way to get HG to show me framerate? I might dabble with testing how performance is affected with FreeRAM active. But, given how I've not really had any problems, it isn't too high on my priority list.

Is the memory leak affected by how high I set the game settings? In other words, is there more of a leak if I increase the graphics settings (AA, AF, shadows, lights, etc)? Just curious, is all. The game automatically picked some very high settings, but I felt I had to turn them down a bit to get a framerate I liked (probably something like 50-70fps is what I like). I can imagine how higher settings would use more RAM... and logically I would think such a thing would not affect whether a memory leak strikes or not... but I know game engines can do the darndest things that defy all common sense and logic.

I also notice that HG is pretty slow to start up. Well, what I mean is, when I load a game, it takes it a bit to render the area my character is in: the textures take a few seconds to pop up, sometimes the NPC models take a moment to be visible (though their weapons are visible, so it is rather amusing to see a rifle floating as an un-rendered Hunter Guard patrols a station). Is that normal? The game gets better after about a minute or two.
Title: Re: The dreaded memory leak
Post by: Kite on Sep 05, 2010; 09:09 PM
@Framerate:
Open the "chat" box and type in "/fps" to enable/disable the framerate display (sometimes freezes when warping, just disable/enable it again)

@Memory leak & high settings:
When you use high graphic settings the game will automatically switch to higher resoluton textures and do other stuff, so yeah, it should increase the amount of memory that is used by the game...

@Long loading times:
Depending on your graphic settings the game takes some time to load all the needed resources so it might take a while and cause such a strange behaviour.
Title: Re: The dreaded memory leak
Post by: FourthHostage on Sep 14, 2010; 02:27 AM
This thread was incredibly usefull, thanks.
Title: Re: The dreaded memory leak
Post by: thumper on Sep 14, 2010; 03:58 AM
Quote from: "Kite"
@Framerate:
Open the "chat" box and type in "/fps" to enable/disable the framerate display (sometimes freezes when warping, just disable/enable it again)

Thanks Kite, I knew there was a way to show this, just couldn't remember the command...

Now, what would be a "good" framerate, with DX10, max settings, etc etc... has anyone posted their SP findings to your knowledge?
Title: Re: The dreaded memory leak
Post by: SilentGreen on Sep 14, 2010; 07:56 PM
@topic

I've experienced infinite loading screens and CTD's during gameplay. In my case it was fixed by restarting the game and keep the taskmanager open / running in the background. Additional it works, if the taskmanager is launched, before HG:L itself. I'm using Windows XP, 32bit and an GF8800GT with 512Mb vram, total ram 4Gb (~3,2Gb). Game is set to DX9. No idea why the taskmanager is necessary for the game to run properly, but well... as long as it works <.<

Maybe the driver for the 8800 is a problem? Wasn't upgraded for years :X xD
Title: Re: The dreaded memory leak
Post by: Wildman on Sep 15, 2010; 02:26 AM
Thats the memory leak, if you adjust your page file/virtual memory as posted in the OP, it should help and updating your graphics drivers cant hurt. 32bit OS's only read about 3.2Gb as you know, which is why I believe 64bit OS's with 4gig or more memory dont suffer from the leak as badly. If you have a way to monitor your memory you'll see that when it reaches 80+% the game slows down and is about to CTD.
Title: Re: The dreaded memory leak
Post by: SilentGreen on Sep 15, 2010; 07:07 PM
Hmm fine. Damn memory-leak xD
I will check the settings of my vmem and set them to the values suggested by you.
That the memory-leak exists and is responsible for the crashes was already known to me, as well as increasing the vmem could solve this problem. But an explicit suggestion which size the vmem should have, was hard to find. Thank you for this!

Only thing that confuse me: why prevent XP's taskmanager HG:L from crashing? <.<

Greetings
Title: Re: The dreaded memory leak
Post by: Wildman on Sep 16, 2010; 09:15 PM
Dont hold me to this, but the reason the game doesn't crash when the task manager is running maybe because the TM is reallocating memory or it might be restricting other processes access to the memory while HG:L is running, which in a sense would be like giving HG:L the highest priority for memory usage.

It is possible that I'm wrong, it's just a theory.
Title: Re: The dreaded memory leak
Post by: FelixTheCrazy on Sep 22, 2010; 10:36 PM
If the NPCs fail to show up in the stations would that be related to memory leak? It started happening after about 45 minutes of play and if I jump into a zone once or twice they come back...

Running:
Vista 32bit
Intel Core 2 Quad Q8400 @ 2.66 ghz
4 GB RAM
Nvidia EVGA GTS 250 1GB

And about 80GB free on my HDD
Title: Re: The dreaded memory leak
Post by: Kite on Sep 22, 2010; 11:37 PM
Quote from: "FelixTheCrazy"
If the NPCs fail to show up in the stations would that be related to memory leak? It started happening after about 45 minutes of play and if I jump into a zone once or twice they come back...

Running:
Vista 32bit
Intel Core 2 Quad Q8400 @ 2.66 ghz
4 GB RAM
Nvidia EVGA GTS 250 1GB

And about 80GB free on my HDD

I'd relate that to some random hickups the game sometimes has... Also happens to me from time to time

Vista 64bit
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 2.83 ghz
8 GB RAM
Radeon HD4870 512MB
Title: Re: The dreaded memory leak
Post by: FelixTheCrazy on Sep 22, 2010; 11:50 PM
Ok thanks. I stepped away for long enough that I don't remember what is and isn't 'normal'. But I'm having a blast playing again. Thanks for all your hard work guys!
Title: Re: The dreaded memory leak
Post by: FelixTheCrazy on Sep 25, 2010; 03:29 PM
After switching up to dx10 I was able to play for 3-4 hours straight with no issues. NPCs never disappeared and I never got the never ending loading ring of death. Not sure if it will help anyone else, but it helped me...
Title: Re: The dreaded memory leak
Post by: difas on Jan 28, 2011; 05:24 PM
how can i do this on win7?

i mean, i cant follow the procedure mentioned on the first topic..
Title: Re: The dreaded memory leak
Post by: Kite on Jan 28, 2011; 07:48 PM
Quote from: "difas"
how can i do this on win7?

i mean, i cant follow the procedure mentioned on the first topic..

You mean increase the size of your virtual memory?
Title: Re: The dreaded memory leak
Post by: Wildman on Jan 29, 2011; 12:17 AM
Kite if you dont mind, I'm going to edit my OP and add what you posted, for those using Win7 32bit. Hopefully it will help to avoid confusion.
Title: Re: The dreaded memory leak
Post by: tock333 on Jun 07, 2011; 05:05 PM
I have a Vista 64bit OS, Intel QuadCore, 8 gig of ram, and an Nvidia GeForce GTX 460 with 1 gig of ram.

For a bit there HG:L would not even start... Now it starts but crashes after around 20 or 30 minutes. I tried all sorts of different settings, with DX9 or 10 and different resolutions and even playing in windowed mode... That was when I saw that as soon as the game starts, even if it is just sitting in the game menu before starting a game, my available memory slowly counts down until I hit about 1,2 gigs at which point it crashes... So yes it is a clear memory leak problem.

My current virtual memory size is 8.5 gigs as well.

Do you think increasing my virtual memory would really help here? Also would the game then just start eating up HD space leading to an inevitable crash much much later?

Any ideas and info are appreciated!
Title: Re: The dreaded memory leak
Post by: Wildman on Jun 08, 2011; 02:58 AM
tock333, I'm going to assume you were in the Hellgate CBT, because I have never seen the SP use anywhere near that much memory.

If you were in the CBT when this happened, it has a major mem leak (among other problems) and actually after about 4 hours of playing I noticed that it was using about 75% of my memory. I am running Win 7 64bit with 8gig of RAM and haven't adjusted my VM at all.

If you were playing the SP, then there is something else going on in your system. You may have something using up memory in the back ground while HG:L is running. You need to make sure that something like FRAPS or your AV isn't running in the back ground, then try again.
Title: Re: The dreaded memory leak
Post by: endersblade on Jul 13, 2011; 06:06 AM
I have, more or less, the same setup as tock333, and I'm getting BSODs all the time.  Running Revival 1.2.1.  One way I know for sure, 100% to cause it.  If I move the camera from side to side for a couple seconds rapidly (as in, attempting to stand in one place and strafe an area with bullets) I get BSOD'd out.  Every single time, doesn't matter where I am, what's in front of me, or what weapon I use.

Secondly, after roughly an hour of playing, maybe less, I BSOD.  I've tried minimizing it to check memory usage, and nothing looks out of place.  Don't have anything else of importance running in the background; I've tried disabling my Antivirus, but I still BSOD.

It's gotten to the point where I hate having quests that are in areas more than one zone away from a town.  Usually every time I get into the second zone from a station, I pretty much get a BSOD before I can complete whatever task is at hand.  I've tried things, such as setting core affinity, high priority, but nothing helps.
Title: Re: The dreaded memory leak
Post by: zodsworld on Aug 16, 2016; 08:08 AM
I'd like to throw in that on my system DX10 exe and Steam''s Broadcasting do not like each other. From crash on attempting to start to loaded in and playing then crashing, but mainly at start up or before in a zone. Dx9 exe doesn't seem to have an issue with it. Only thing i get from Dx9 is what I've always had over 3 totally different systems over the years all high end and that's the driver crashing on xp pro/resetting in Win 7 64. Dx10 just frame drop on a rare occasion long as Steam broadcasting is off.

Now back in the beginning from that Founders pre-closed beta event to some time after release I and many many others suffered from BSODs. For me it was mainly in the stations
that I remember but others had it elsewhere as well. Then it got supposedly fixed. Well I have always had my doubts, I think it just got toned down.... to a driver crash/reset lol.

Just in case some has problems starting or running thought I'd mention the Steam possible issue.

System specs roughly form memory currently using:
17 x980 cpu
EVGA x58classified 3way mobo
12 gigs RAM
Gigbyte 980 GTX vid