Author Topic: Character Planner  (Read 35674 times)

maeyan

  • Loves Hellgate
  • Administrator
  • Eldest
  • *****
  • Posts: 1997
  • Karma: 31
Re: Character Planner
« Reply #30 on: Jul 29, 2011; 05:22 PM »
New Expertise. Purge.
Hang on, what? I don't see this in game
Don't dream what to be; be what you always dreamed.

Firvagor

  • Wiki Dude
  • Administrator
  • Named
  • *****
  • Posts: 496
  • Karma: 20
  • (╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻
Re: Character Planner
« Reply #31 on: Jul 29, 2011; 05:23 PM »
It was removed in the recent re-patch. The random Beacon Summoner skill was also removed.
Programming today is a race between software engineers striving to build bigger and better idiot-proof programs, and the universe trying to produce bigger and better idiots. So far, the universe is winning.

Jaknet

  • Founder
  • Dark Will
  • ***
  • Posts: 913
  • Karma: 6
Re: Character Planner
« Reply #32 on: Jul 29, 2011; 05:29 PM »
Just to add if you max a skill (arcane shield tried) the +/- vanishes and I had to use browser back to clear the points.
Nostalgia... Isn't what it used to be

maeyan

  • Loves Hellgate
  • Administrator
  • Eldest
  • *****
  • Posts: 1997
  • Karma: 31
Re: Character Planner
« Reply #33 on: Jul 29, 2011; 05:38 PM »
Just to add if you max a skill (arcane shield tried) the +/- vanishes and I had to use browser back to clear the points.
I couldn't get that to happen - will need a specific order of events to replicate the bug.
Don't dream what to be; be what you always dreamed.

Jaknet

  • Founder
  • Dark Will
  • ***
  • Posts: 913
  • Karma: 6
Re: Character Planner
« Reply #34 on: Jul 29, 2011; 05:56 PM »
Just to add if you max a skill (arcane shield tried) the +/- vanishes and I had to use browser back to clear the points.
I couldn't get that to happen - will need a specific order of events to replicate the bug.

Confused the hell out of me as it didn't happen then either, but think I've found out what it seems to be.

Was trying with a 20th lvl  and the level limit removes the +/- when reaching the limit and does not return until I raise the level in the planner.
Nostalgia... Isn't what it used to be

maeyan

  • Loves Hellgate
  • Administrator
  • Eldest
  • *****
  • Posts: 1997
  • Karma: 31
Re: Character Planner
« Reply #35 on: Jul 29, 2011; 06:39 PM »
There we go - thanks for the bug report i'll be able to fix now
Don't dream what to be; be what you always dreamed.

kuukkeli

  • Founder
  • Named
  • **
  • Posts: 181
  • Karma: 0
Re: Character Planner
« Reply #36 on: Aug 14, 2011; 12:23 AM »
I can confrim Jaknet's bug about disappearing + and - signs on skills. It happens to every skill when you hit the limit of points you can spend to it on your chosen level.

Another bug I'd like to report is that the planner seems to give one less point to spend than it should. Very easy to test on a skill tab with lots of 10 point skills.

Also I'd like to request a reset button.
Reppana - Evoker - 55r26 (The Korean Group)
Ressukka - Engineer - 50r21 (The Korean Group)
Rukkanen - Guardian - 50r6 (Revival)
Raasu - Blademaster - 40
Lapanen - Marksman - 40
Rupu - Summoner - 5

maeyan

  • Loves Hellgate
  • Administrator
  • Eldest
  • *****
  • Posts: 1997
  • Karma: 31
Re: Character Planner
« Reply #37 on: Aug 14, 2011; 02:27 AM »
Another bug I'd like to report is that the planner seems to give one less point to spend than it should. Very easy to test on a skill tab with lots of 10 point skills.

Also I'd like to request a reset button.
This is a terrible bug. A lot of people have already been using the planner and probably not realized - i'm gonna do a few jobs and get on this and the other afore mentioned problems.
Don't dream what to be; be what you always dreamed.

Butsutekkai

  • Founder
  • Named
  • **
  • Posts: 320
  • Karma: 4
Re: Character Planner
« Reply #38 on: Aug 14, 2011; 09:30 AM »
I just noticed this issue myself. It happen when we had the event skillpoint we probably all have. I ll try to explain.
In your planner, we have 55 points to spend by default. We had the event one and we always have 55. But when you select 0 skill point bonus, the planner now show only 54 points.
Zeel - 55/50 Evoker                     >
Nx03-Hogire - 55/50 Striker engi >
KrameRr - 55/50 Marksman         >
   All retired :(

kuukkeli

  • Founder
  • Named
  • **
  • Posts: 181
  • Karma: 0
Re: Character Planner
« Reply #39 on: Aug 14, 2011; 06:21 PM »
I just noticed this issue myself. It happen when we had the event skillpoint we probably all have. I ll try to explain.
In your planner, we have 55 points to spend by default. We had the event one and we always have 55. But when you select 0 skill point bonus, the planner now show only 54 points.

No need to be so complicated  :)  Planner loses one skill point after the first action that changes the number of remaining skill or expertise points: changing the character level or rank, changing the number of extra skill points or using a skill or expertise point.
Reppana - Evoker - 55r26 (The Korean Group)
Ressukka - Engineer - 50r21 (The Korean Group)
Rukkanen - Guardian - 50r6 (Revival)
Raasu - Blademaster - 40
Lapanen - Marksman - 40
Rupu - Summoner - 5

stylen

  • Founder
  • Named
  • **
  • Posts: 223
  • Karma: 2
  • Whatever it takes
    • http://rareglitch.net
Re: Character Planner
« Reply #40 on: Aug 14, 2011; 09:42 PM »
When attempting to link to someone else or forum the skills aren't coming out correctly.

http://www.hellgateaus.info/planner/#Engineer,50,0,1,00001031a071003224021110000110000,000000000000000

Supposed to show 10/10 haste bot 7/7 rocket bot 10/10 moltov assault.
Strength and Honor,
M17 - 53 Engineer (striker w/drone)
Thaimaishu - 55 BM (crit)

maeyan

  • Loves Hellgate
  • Administrator
  • Eldest
  • *****
  • Posts: 1997
  • Karma: 31
Re: Character Planner
« Reply #41 on: Aug 14, 2011; 11:12 PM »
When attempting to link to someone else or forum the skills aren't coming out correctly.

http://www.hellgateaus.info/planner/#Engineer,50,0,1,00001031a071003224021110000110000,000000000000000

Supposed to show 10/10 haste bot 7/7 rocket bot 10/10 moltov assault.
The url looks malformed which is probably not related to the app, can you try re-create the build and post the url? - I will have add some error checking to inform you the URL is broken, rather than give you a broken tree.
Don't dream what to be; be what you always dreamed.

stylen

  • Founder
  • Named
  • **
  • Posts: 223
  • Karma: 2
  • Whatever it takes
    • http://rareglitch.net
Re: Character Planner
« Reply #42 on: Aug 15, 2011; 12:19 AM »
Okay tried again here is what it came up with using IE:
http://www.hellgateaus.info/planner/#Engineer,55,50,0,00001031a07a003222011100000000000,000000000000000

supposed to be 10/10 haste 7/7 rocket and 10/10 moltov assault

This is the screenie from desktop using google chrome:
http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6139/6042980563_674ba4203f_b.jpg

and the link from chrome:
http://www.hellgateaus.info/planner/#Engineer,55,50,0,000010000000031a70000a01210321200,000000000000000

Am I possibly doing something wrong?  I spec the tree and then just copy / paste the URL from the top of the bar above.
Strength and Honor,
M17 - 53 Engineer (striker w/drone)
Thaimaishu - 55 BM (crit)

maeyan

  • Loves Hellgate
  • Administrator
  • Eldest
  • *****
  • Posts: 1997
  • Karma: 31
Re: Character Planner
« Reply #43 on: Aug 15, 2011; 03:22 AM »
oh wow, different browsers are ordering the hash-map differently, which is why IE provides a different URL to IE. What a horrible inconvenience. This is going to break all the existing links once I fix it. Oh well, this is in beta still.

EDIT: What version of Internet Explorer are you using? I'm using version 9 and I can't seen to replicate the bug
« Last Edit: Aug 15, 2011; 03:36 AM by maeyan »
Don't dream what to be; be what you always dreamed.

maeyan

  • Loves Hellgate
  • Administrator
  • Eldest
  • *****
  • Posts: 1997
  • Karma: 31
Re: Character Planner
« Reply #44 on: Aug 15, 2011; 05:44 AM »
Revision 22 is up. Lots of fixes and tweaks, check the first post for the complete log.

I can confrim Jaknet's bug about disappearing + and - signs on skills. It happens to every skill when you hit the limit of points you can spend to it on your chosen level.
This isn't actually a bug after all - I designed it so it will prevent you from investing points in a skill if you do not meet the level requirement. You can hover over the skill to view the requirement when this happens - it will be in red text like in-game.

Quote
Another bug I'd like to report is that the planner seems to give one less point to spend than it should. Very easy to test on a skill tab with lots of 10 point skills.
Thanks fixed this up.

Quote
Also I'd like to request a reset button.
Added.
Don't dream what to be; be what you always dreamed.